Blind (Clause 37)

You may be eligible to reduce all or a portion of the taxes assessed on your domicile if you meet the qualifications for one of the personal exemptions allowed under Massachusetts law. Qualifications vary, but generally relate to age, ownership, residency, disability, income or assets.

You may be eligible for an exemption if you fall into any of these categories:

  • Legally blind person
  • Veteran with a service-connected disability
  • Surviving spouse of servicemember, national guard member or veteran who died from active duty injury or illness
  • Surviving spouse
  • Minor child of a deceased parent
  • Senior citizen age 70 and older (65 and older by local option) More detailed information about the qualifications for each exemption may be obtained from your board of assessors.

Legally Blind Persons Tax Exemption Information

The Department of Revenue (DOR) has created this fact sheet to provide general information about local property tax exemptions for the legally blind. It is not designed to address all questions or issues and does not change any provision of the Massachusetts General Laws. To find out about the specific eligibility and application requirements in your city or town, you must contact the board of assessors. The DOR cannot determine your eligibility or give you legal advice. Property taxes are assessed and collected by cities and towns, not by the DOR. Under state law, only your board of assessors, as the local tax administrator, can decide whether you qualify for an exemption. If you disagree with its decision, you may appeal to the state Appellate Tax Board


You may file an application if you meet all qualifications for a personal exemption as of July 1. You may also apply if you are the personal representative of the estate, or trustee under the will, of a person who qualified for a personal exemption on July 1.