Transfer Station Study Committee

Join the Committee

The Board of Selectmen is currently seeking applications for residents who would like to serve on the Transfer Station Study Committee. Please visit our Board and Committee Openings page and complete a Talent Bank Application if you are interested in becoming a member of the committee. The Selectmen will begin appointing members at the April 26, 2021 meeting.


The purpose of the Transfer Station Study Committee is to evaluate options for and make recommendations as appropriate to the Board of Selectmen regarding the development of a comprehensive and long-term solid waste disposal and recycling strategy for Hanover’s Transfer Station that is environmentally friendly, appropriately funded, and economically fair.


The Transfer Station Study Committee (TSSC) shall serve two (2) budget cycles starting immediately after the 2021 Annual Town Meeting thru the 2023 Annual Town Meeting.  TSSC will provide a status report and update to the Board of Selectmen on January 17, 2022, and a final report due to the Selectmen on January 16, 2023.

About the Study Committee

The TSSC shall be appointed by the Board of Selectmen; the Board shall endeavor to appoint between 5-7 Hanover residents with a diversity of backgrounds and interests in how the transfer station serves the public.  All meetings shall be required to follow Open Meeting Law and other applicable guidelines.  The Board of Selectmen will appoint a liaison to the TSSC.

Staff Support

The Town Manager, Public Works Director, Deputy Public Works Director, and Executive Assistant shall be expected to provide staff support, including minute keeping.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Joseph Colangelo Town Manager 781-826-5000 ext 1084
Victor J. Diniak Director of Public Works 781-826-3189
Kurt Kelley Deputy Superintendent of Public Works 781-826-3189
Janet Tierney Executive Assistant / Licensing Coordinator 781-826-5000 ext 1032