Firearms Permits and LTC

If you are looking to obtain a Massachusetts License to Carry Firearms (LTC) or a Firearms Identification Card (FID) you must complete the following steps:

Application Process

 

Pay the application fee at the Hanover Town Hall in the Treasurer/Collector’s office (LTC/FID $100). You will receive two receipts, which you should retain and present during the application processing phase. Applicants over the age of 70 are exempt from paying the fee. This fee applies to all new licenses as well as renewals.

  1. Complete a License to Carry Firearms Application
  2. (1st Time Applicants Only) Complete an approved Basic Firearms Safety Course.

    Massachusetts Approved Basic Firearms Safety Courses

  3. Schedule an appointment with a licensing officer at firearms@hanover-ma.gov. Do not attach any applications, safety certificates, receipts or any other documents to the email account. They will not be accepted by email. They must be presented in person in order to facilitate the application process at the time of your scheduled appointment.

Safety Course Information

  1. NEW FIREARMS APPLICANT: You must take an approved basic firearms safety course before applying. You will receive a certificate of completion at the end of the course, which you MUST present a copy of during the application processing phase.
    1. Massachusetts Approved Basic Firearms Safety Courses
  2. RENEWAL FIREARMS APPLICANT: You must download and complete a Firearms Renewal LTC/FID application and pay the application fee at the Hanover Town Hall in the Treasurer/Collector’s office (LTC/FID $100). You will receive two receipts, which you should retain and present during the renewal application processing phase. Applicants over the age of 70 are exempt from paying the fee. You will need to present a completed and signed renewal application and show receipt of payment to our licensing officer to start the process of renewal.

Things to Remember

  1. Once you have completed the first three steps in the application process, send an email to firearms@hanover-ma.gov and one of the officers will arrange an appointment with you. Please enure that you have your reciepts and a copy of your safety certificate with you; otherwise your application will not be processed. Fingerprinting will be conducted for all new firearms applicants.
  2. You must be able to present names, addresses, and phone numbers of two (2) references.

Application Note

Please Note on Question #5:

Have you ever appeared in any court as a defendant for any criminal offenses (excluding non-criminal traffic offenses)?

Key word is “APPEARED”, not necessarily arrested. Appearances by an attorney on your behalf must be disclosed. Having been arrested and convicted of a crime does not necessarily prohibit you from getting a LTC or FID. Not disclosing this information does. Understand that “ever appeared” include all adult and juvenile appearances. It does not matter if you were found guilty or if the charges were dismissed or continue without a finding. Please write it down. If you have a sealed record, let us know. We will not accept “I forgot” or “They told me it would not show up” or “That was so long ago” as responses. Remember, you are signing under the penalties of perjury. If you are untruthful, you will be denied and may face prosecution.

Firearms Licensing Officers

Hanover Police Firearms OfficerContact
Officer Kristin Metivier firearms@hanover-ma.gov
Officer Dana Hansenfirearms@hanover-ma.gov
Sergeant David Zemotelfirearms@hanover-ma.gov

Firearms Safety Certification Instructors

Hanover Police Firearms OfficerContact
Lieutenant Gregory Nihangregory.nihan@hanover-ma.gov
Sergeant Wayne Richards (retired)781-635-6095