
Property Tax Exemptions 
Fiscal Year 2024 (July 1, 2023- June 30, 2024)  

 
 

ALL APPLICATIONS FOR EXEMPTIONS MUST BE FILED ANNUALLY WITH THE ASSESSORS OFFICE 
 

What is an exemption? 
 

An exemption is a reduction of property taxes for residents who meet certain qualifications. The various exemptions offered by 
Hanover through the State of Massachusetts are the disabled veterans exemption, legally blind exemption, surviving spouse and 
minor child of a deceased parent exemption, and the senior exemptions.  If the property is in a trust the owner must be a trustee 
AND  have a significant beneficial interest in the trust.   
 
 

Disabled Veterans Exemption 
 

Veterans must have been domiciled in Massachusetts for 5 years prior to entry into the service. Must own and occupy property as of 
July 1

st
. A veteran needs to have a service-related disability of at least 10% as certified by the Veterans Administration. The spouses 

of veterans or the surviving spouses of veteran who remain unmarried also qualify for this exemption. Veterans who have been 
awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor, Distinguished Service Cross, Air Force Cross, or Navy Cross also qualify. Disabled 
Veteran Exemptions vary on severity of disability.  Veterans approved for Veterans exemption receive the CPA exemption as well.  
 

Legally Blind Exemption CL. 37A 
 

To qualify for the legally blind exemption, the tax payer must be a legal resident of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, own and 
occupy the property as his or her domicile, and annually provide a current Certificate of Blindness from the Massachusetts 
Commission for the Blind certifying date of registration as of July 1, 2023. Upon Approval, the taxpayer is entitled to a $437.50 
exemption. Taxpayers approved for the blind exemption receive the CPA exemption as well. 
 

Senior Exemption - Surviving Spouse or Minor Child Exemption CL. 17D 
Age 70 or older as of 7/1 / No maximum income / Maximum assets - $40.000 / Amount exempted - $350 
Must have owned and occupied such property for at least 5 years. In determining worth of total estate, domicile is exempt unless 
property is more than a 3 family house, the prorated share of the value of the property is to be considered, exclusive of the value of 
any mortgage, in addition to savings or checking accounts, IRA’s, CD’s, stocks, bonds, value of motor vehicle, other real estate, or any 
other assets.  Requires a completed bank form. Taxpayers approved for the Senior exemption receive the CPA exemption as well. 
 

Senior Exemption CL. 41C 
 

Age 65 or older / Single Max. Income - $25,653/ Max. Asset - $40,000 / Exempted - $1,500 
              Married Max. Income - $38,480 / Max. Asset - $55,000 / Exempted - $1,500 

Must have been domiciled in Massachusetts for the preceding ten years and have owned and occupied such property or other 
property in Massachusetts for 5 years. Or is the surviving spouse who inherits such property and has occupied it for 5 years. For 
single persons, the net income cannot exceed $24,834. For married applicants the net income cannot exceed $37,251. In 
determining the whole worth of the estate, the valuation of domicile is exempt. A bank form is required to be completed as well as a 
copy of their tax return. Taxpayers approved for the senior exemption receive the CPA exemption as well. 
 

Community Preservation Act Exemption 
1. Age 60 as of 1/1.   Must meet income limits set out by HUD. Must own and occupy the property by 7/1. See details on 

reverse side. 
Tax Deferral CL. 41A  
 

Age 65 as of July 1
st

 of the fiscal year / Resided in MA for 10+ years / same income and asset requirements as 41c. 
Tax deferral option should be considered when a taxpayer’s current expenses make the continued ownership of his/her home 
difficult. The deferred amount will become a lien on the property. It is also important to note that tax deferral may be used in 
conjunction with other exemption programs. As opposed to a property tax exemption, the deferred taxes must eventually be repaid 
with interest, when the property is sold, transferred, or upon the demise of the owner. The interest rate is 4%/16%.  
 

Must file on or before 
April 1, 2024 

 
 

Please contact the Assessor’s Office for more information at: Assessing@hanover-ma.gov,  

http://www.hanover-ma.gov / or at 781-826-6401/ 

TOWN OF HANOVER, BOARD OF ASSESSORS 
 

mailto:Assessing@hanover-ma.gov


2023                 Community Preservation Income Limits                  FOR FISCAL YEAR 2024 

Moderate income for Seniors (over 60) -100% of HUD's median income 

            

  HUD AWMI US HUD AWMI 
$149,300 

AWM 

  

  

  SENIOR 2023     

            

1 PERSON  0.7 $104,510       

2 PERSONS 0.8 $119,440       

3 PERSONS 0.90 $134,370       

4 PERSONS $1.00  $149,300       

5 PERSONS $1.08  $161,244       

6 PERSONS $1.16  $173,188       

7 PERSONS $1.24  $185,132       

8 PERSONS $1.32  $197,076       

            

  NON SENIOR 2022       

Low income for Non Seniors  - 80% of HUD's median income 

            

1 PERSON 0.56 $83,608       

2 PERSONS 0.64 $95,552       

3 PERSONS $0.72  $107,496       

4 PERSONS $0.80  $119,440       

5 PERSONS $0.86  $128,995       

6 PERSONS $0.93  $138,550       

7 PERSONS $0.99  $148,106       

8 PERSONS $1.06  $157,661       
 


