REPORT OF THE COMMUNITY ACCESS AND MEDIA COMMITTEE

For Fiscal Year July 1, 2018 – June 30, 2019

On May 11, 2009 the Hanover Community Access and Media (CAM) committee was created at the Annual Hanover Town Meeting to establish an organization responsible to provide Public, Educational and Governmental (PEG) television services to the cable television subscribers of the TOWN OF HANOVER. The funds are overseen by the Town Manager. The committee is constituted annually as follows: one member appointed by the School Committee, one member appointed by the Superintendent of Schools, two members appointed by the Board of Selectmen, and three members appointed by the Town Moderator. Both Verizon and Comcast/Xfinity air three (3) channels of Educational, Government and Public programming for the Town.

Education Channel: Since 2015-2016 HCTV with the High School (HHS) created an elective class in Broadcast Journalism at HHS. The course continues to be fully enrolled. A CAM goal continues to be to have a more advanced class created to build on the current class. HCTV's equipment upgrades have allowed HCTV to provide quality broadcasts in a variety of HHS events including but not limited to sports, music and theater.

Government Channel: Consists of the School Committee meetings, Board of Selectmen meetings and Town meetings broadcast live. Sound and clarity improvements have been made to the station equipment for quality viewing and listening. A goal of the station is to have more committee meetings broadcasted to keep the residents more informed of what is happening in their local Government.

Public Channel: CAM wants more community involvement with HCTV and the creation of more new programs. CAM's goal continues to be quality produced content on our channels.

HCTV studio is located inside HHS with a production office, editing station and area for live broadcasts. CAM's goal for improved visibility with signage at its current location was completed last year with signs at both entrances inside the school. HCTV renewed Franchise agreements with both Comcast and Verizon to secure funding for the future of HCTV.

Respectfully
Submitted by its
Members:
Tom Kane
Pam Manning
Stephen Ryerson
Susan Glover
Jamie Tedeschi
Michael O'Connor