Advisory Committee Town of Hanover 550 Hanover Street Hanover, MA 02339

Meeting Minutes of November 5, 2012

<u>Committee Attendees:</u> Brian Barthelmes, Florence Grady, David Bond, John O'Leary, Jerry O'Hearn, Helen Graves, Joan Young, Wayne Moores, Jim Van Arsdale

Absent: Jim Van Arsdale

Others: Town Manager, Troy Clarkson

Brian Barthelmes, Advisory Committee Chairman, opened the meeting at 6:30 p.m. in the Advisory Committee Hearing Room at Town Hall.

Finance Director Search Update: Brian Barthelmes informed the Committee that the Town's current Finance Director, Jennifer Petit has accepted a new position with the Town of Falmouth. Town Manager Troy Clarkson provided an update on the process and progress of the search to fill the open Finance Director position.

Three candidates have been interviewed so far for this position. Helen Graves sat in on these interviews. It is anticipated that a fourth candidate will be interviewed before a recommendation on the person to be hired is presented by the Town Manager to the Board of Selectmen on November 19, 2012. Initial interviews were delayed due to Storm Sandy.

The Finance Director will work closely with Town Department Heads and the Advisory Committee.

Helen Graves provided feedback to the Advisory Committee on the three candidates that have been interviewed so far.

It was discussed that previous management experience, in addition to municipal finance experience, is important for this position.

<u>Meeting Minutes:</u> The Committee reviewed the meeting minutes of September 19, 2012. David Bond made a motion to accept the Advisory Committee meeting minutes of September 19, 2012 as written. Helen Graves seconded the motion. All others were in favor.

Florence Grady made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:40 p.m. Helen Graves seconded the motion and it was so voted unanimously.

<u>Next meeting:</u> The Advisory Committee will attend a budget meeting with the Board of Selectmen and Town Manager on December 17, 2012.

Prepared by: Audrey Barresi, Advisory Committee Secretary